Chocolate Books Tag

Okay, you can have some chocolate, Machete Diplomacy and Apprentice, Never Master. Welcome to the Chocolate Book Tag, created by A Daydreamer’s Ramblings over on YouTube.

Animals murder. Ants ruin all.

Dark Chocolatea book that covers dark things.

Mort(e) by Robert Repino. I am not a fan of dark chocolate unless it is tempered by peanut butter or is poured on top of ice cream, which made Mort(e) difficult to get through. Mort(e) is painful. Know a difficult dark concept? It’s probably here. War, death, religion, friendship, faith, hopelessness, revenge – all explored through mutated no longer adorable animals. There is no humor despite the absurdity of the setting. Violence, death, and prejudice are everywhere. For me, there is too much bitter and not enough sweet. I am glad it is on my shelves, but this is 98% bitter cacao – be prepared.

Where the banter never stops.

White Chocolatea favorite light-hearted read.

Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire. So I adore white chocolate and thus in picking a white chocolate book, decided to go as far into light-hearted as I could get. The Incryptid series is good fun. Sass, snark, ballroom dancing, and a whole host of “monsters” keep this book light hearted and fun. My favorite parts are the religious mice. “ALL HAIL THE SHOWER.” Yeah, I recommend this if you enjoy laughing. Just, read it for the Aeslin mice. Seriously.

Milk Chocolate – a book with a lot of hype right that you’re dying to read.

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie. Not a big fan of milk chocolate. I dislike hype, and if I like something with hype, then I’ve read it already. Because patience with chocolate is not one of my virtues. However, this book is not out yet, so it is safe. I greatly enjoyed the first two books in this series and the first book won or was nominated for numerous awards. I can’t wait to see where this exploration goes. You have until October 6th to go read the first two. Or, if you have willpower – wait, then read them all at once.

 Chocolate with a Caramel Centera book that made you feel all warm and gooey on the inside.

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson. I love everything about this book. I left this book delighted and full of love for artists everywhere. Read it. Read it read it. Highly recommended.

A Wafer-free Kit-Kata book that surprised you recently.

Rolling in the Deep by Mira Grant. I rarely read horror, but after reading and enjoying Feed, I thought I would venture into more of Mira Grant’s brand of scary. I adored the first 75% of Rolling in the Deep and was properly concerned about the immanent monster attack. Then the monster showed up and I burst out laughing. For me, this was still a great read, but it stopped being a horror novel. It became… gory hilarity. I loved this book, but not for the common reasons. Much like biting into a Kit-Kat and finding salted caramel instead of wafers – an unexpected twist.

Snickersa book you’re going NUTS about currently.

One Good Dragon Deserves Another by Rachel Aaron.

YAY! Please look into the box of chocolate for more on this delightful delicious book.

Hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows – a favorite comfort read.

In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce. I have read the Song of the Lioness quartet so many times I have worn out a copy of the series. I have travel copies, and signed copies, and copies held together with tape. Despite having the books practically memorized, I come back to them again and again because they are my safety blanket.

 

A box of chocolate – a series that has a bit of everything and a lot of people would really really like it.

The Heartstrikers Series by Rachel Aaron. Every person to whom I have recommended this series adored it. I love Rachel Aaron and describe her fantasy as FUN. The Heartstrikers series is urban fantasy and I was sold on the concept when I heard the inspiration: criminal family made of dragons. It delivers on the premise. Nice dragons, clever dragons, ghost cats, magicians, and spirits. Family drama, magic drama, magic swords, magic eating terrors! Everyone will find something in this box of chocolates. Nice Dragons Finish Last is out in both e-book and paper format, and the second book, One Good Dragon Deserves Another, just came out in e-book format. I devoured it in a day and was quite happy with the direction the series was heading, which promises more chocolate in the future.

Go. Go and enjoy. *throws chocolate to the crowd* You need this chaos in your life.


If anyone wants to reply, I will never say no to chocolate. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

