Legal Theft Project: Crushes and Con Artists

“Whatever it is you’re thinking of doing to try and help me, don’t.” Lore directed the sotto voce comment at her brother without looking at him. Leon grinned and stuck his hands in his pockets. Detective Skyll got into his car and drove away.

“I didn’t say anything,” Leon said as Lore turned toward him. “I even refrained from picking his pocket.”

“And you’ll continue to refrain from picking his pocket, getting yourself arrested, and generally sticking your nose in any kind of relationship I may or may not have with Detective Skyll.” Lore looked away from the departing car and headed to her own.

Leon fell into step beside her. “But you want there to be a relationship.”

Lore took a deep breath, let it out, and unlocked her door. “I think he’s cute and a cop.” She got into the car and her brother slipped into the passenger seat. She ignored her brother’s curious look as she started the car towards home.

“You going to see him again?” It sounded like a casually interested question; Leon was never a casually interested person.

Lore shot her brother a warning look. “I’ve gotten used to the ability to not lie about my life and don’t feel inclined to get involved with anyone where I would have to do so. Cops are definitely not on the list of people I can be honest with.”

“That doesn’t prohibit you from looking.” Leon pointed out reasonably. “Or dating, plenty of dates are based solely around lies. I didn’t feel the urge to punch him in the face.”

Lore laughed. “No sudden upwelling of brotherly protective urges?”

Leon shrugged one shoulder and made a face.

“That’s probably for the best, his face would have hurt your fist.” She looked at her brother. “You liked him.”

“Liked him?” Leon looked at his sister in genuine shock, then he shuddered. “No.”

Lore punched his shoulder. “Not like that.” She sighed, but she was smiling. “We’ve established that our tastes are very opposite when it comes to men. I meant you have a matchmaking gleam in your eye and I want it to go away.”

“I want you to be happy and have fun. You don’t have enough fun.” He said simply and slouched back in his seat.

Touched, Lore didn’t say anything for a moment. “I have fun. I would own fewer shoes if I didn’t have fun.” She pulled into the parking garage and parked.

Leon shrugged. “Just curious. Though if you ever want me to pick his pocket…”

Lore rolled her eyes. “You’ll be the first and only person I call.”

___________________________________________________________

I stole the first line of this piece from Bek. And what a wonderful line it is. I can’t wait to see her original fiction. Check out our wonderful ring of thieves here.

Leave a Reply

