Book Blogger TMI Tag

I’m it. Time to answer questions about my reading habits. Books? I love books. Wait, this first question is not about books.

How old are you?
I am old enough to purchase bladed weapons. This is all that truly matters. Excuse me while I go polish my rapier.

What book are you reading?
You meant books, right? The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint and illustrated by Charles Vess, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, Bloody Fabulous an anthology edited by Ekaterina Sedia, and Hauntings an anthology edited by Ellen Datlow. Books, you can’t try just one.

What are you wearing?
A highwayman’s dark coat, boots, and breeches. A cream-colored shirt with lace at the cuff and collar. Top that off with a cavalier’s hat with obnoxiously long feather. We ride at dawn.

OTP?
Alanna and George from Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness Quartet. They were my first OTP and the one I am the most sentimental about.

Blogger or WordPress?
Is this a trick question?

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?
If I am by myself, I stay inside and read or go outside and read. If I have a friend with me, I go outside and walk, hike, run, play, dance, or frolic. I enjoy going outside and being active, just not alone.

What is the last book you read?
Of the current books I’m perusing, the last one I’ve read is Bloody Fabulous. The anthology is a collection of fashion based fiction with supernatural elements. I now want a faery handbag.

What is the book you’re going to read next?
I am probably going to finish Bloody Fabulous then read more of The Cats of Tanglewood Forest because cats. Then start something new, then read more of an anthology, then go back to Ocean

Ebooks – yes or no?
Yes, in the case of books that I cannot find anywhere else. I have quite the collection of out of print gaming books on my computer. Otherwise no. I am quite attached to my printed words. They make great bludgeoning weapons and I do not have to fear damaging tech. Plus, books never need to charge.

Where do you prefer to read?
I prefer to read in a room with other people who are also reading and will not mind when I interrupt their concentration to read them that hilarious/crazy/emotional/inspiring line that is so amazing I must read it to them immediately.

Who is the last person you tweeted?
I attempted to hold a conversation with the sparrows outside my kitchen window, but my avian language skills are rusty.

Whose blog did you look at last?
I have three open at the moment. My own, Machete Diplomacy, and Apprentice, Never Master.

Who is your favorite blogger?
Matt the Werewolf is my favorite blogger. At the moment he only lives in a rough draft on a friend’s computer, but he and his family never fail to make me smile.

Who is your favorite book-tuber?
My favorite sentient underground plant based book is Jemima Elise Angelica Otatop. She is a wonderful sweet potato book-tuber whose orange pages continually fill with quotations from classical literature. Clearly I understood this question.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?
I turn on this song and dance to it. Then I go back to reading.

Who is the last author you spoke to?
Patrick Rothfuss. I made a fool of myself. It was awesome.

Who is the last person you texted?
My mother. It said, “No lasagna.”

Who is your all-time favorite book character?
Ninety percent of the time if I do not love a character in it, I do not love the book. Trying to choose among characters for the title of all time champion is impossible. However, I can host a yearly tournament and the current champions are Alanna the Lioness and Lord Miles Vorkosigan of Barrayar.

Alanna is exactly who I wanted to be when I was ten or so and desperately wanted to be a knight and have adventures and magic and a talking cat. She does not let others define her and I adore her for it.

Miles is a brilliant hyperactive force of chaos. He is the main character in Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan saga and I love him for his manic mind, his overdramatic mein, his doubt, and his drive to prove himself. I best love Miles in the book Memory which has the description “Miles hits thirty. Thirty hits back.”

Previous holders of the title include Aragorn son of Arathorn, Drizzt Do’Urden, Sulien ap Gwien, and Honor Harrington.

United Kingdom YA or United States YA?
I have no clue what the cultural identity of my young adult fiction is. I’ll have to ask it, but I don’t judge. If it is well written, I don’t care which slang they use.

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?
Water because I’m not missing out on flavor. I get lost in books and thus would not appreciate a delicious beverage while reading. Also, if I stay hydrated I can read longer.

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?
I would be a cat and I would lay on all materials attempting to be read by others.

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?
Well, I have six cases in various sizes that are specifically designed for holding books. I love them dearly and they make me happy in my heart place, but I think this question is a little misleading. My floor has been an excellent place to store books. As has every other flat surface that has ever been in my presence.Bookshelves Bookshmelves

If you had the choice to meet all of your favorite book bloggers or all of your favorite authors, which would you pick? You can only pick one.
Bloggers. Quite a few of my favorite book bloggers are also authors whose work I enjoy so only picking one is no problem at all.

Insta-love: yes or no?
Totally. I mean, adding water and then BOOM instant potatoes. What’s not to love? Oh wait, did you mean people? Like… believe in people having instant love? No. I believe in crazy meters. You may have a sense that your crazy is compatible with their crazy, but it always takes time to figure out if it is a kind of crazy that will last through years of shenanigans.

Favorite author?
Did we learn nothing back at the favorite character question? The current champions in this tourney are Rachel Aaron and Patrick Rothfuss. I adore Rachel Aaron because she lured me into a realm of happy fun fantasy and then walloped me over the head with epicness. I have reviewed them, here, here, here, and here.

Patrick Rothfuss has a control of language that I envy and adore. His prose is as close to music as you can get before crossing into poetry. His sheer mastery of language is reason enough for him to hold the title of champion, but then there is the plum bob scene in The Wise Man’s Fear. I fell out of my chair laughing. My friends seemed concerned by this behavior, so I read the scene to them in explanation. They understood.

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?
Honor’s Knight by Rachel Bach which is being released on February 25th. It is the sequel to Fortune’s Pawn and as that book ended with a cliff-hanger I want the next one soonest. There is a small crew of interesting people on a spaceship having adventures involving aliens, secrets, romance, and much fighting in space armor. More please.
Fun fact, Rachel Aaron and Rachel Bach are the same person.

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?
I like stories about people who follow their own code, face overwhelming opposition, and win through the day with a smile and a witty one liner. I like people who try to help, mess that up, try to fix it, mess that up, and go on to be better people for it. I like people who make me care, who make me cry, who make me laugh, and who make me hope they get a happy ending. I could care less about their plumbing.

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?
Disney’s 1993 adaptation of Alexandre Dumas’s The Three Musketeers. They are not similar, but both of them make me so very happy. The book has four men having a picnic in a war zone and convincing the opposing army that they are a full contingent of soldiers. The movie has a number of one-liners that I quote often and Tim Curry as Cardinal Richelieu.

What is the last song you listened to?

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?
Humorous reviews. I don’t often read reviews of other people’s work. For my own work I prefer critical critiques with encouragement to improve and the occasional smiley face.

Who are you going to tag?
You! Tag. You’re it. No tag backs.

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger TMI Tag

  1. “We ride at dawn.” = *claps delightedly*

    OTP = help out the acronymically challenged. That stands for /what/, precisely?

    Book-Tuber = *snigger-snorts and moves on*

    RACHEL AARON/BACH HONOR’S KNIGHT AAAAAAH! = *cough* We may hold similar views on the matter.

    I must find a slot in my blogging schedule to address these questions. Hopefully I’ll be at least half as entertaining as you. One can try.

Leave a Reply

