Gezelligheid

The center is a gold table with chairs. Any other way I drew chairs made it look like a sun.

The center is a gold table with chairs. Any other way I drew chairs made it look like a sun.

I must thank “Prompts for the Promptless” for teaching me the word “Gezelligheid”. Now when people ask me what my plans are I have a one word answer. When the hapless questioner tilts their head and asks me “What is that?”, “Is that a company?”, “Bless you?” I shall simply smile and change the conversation. If they persist I shall direct them here.

Gezelligheid is a Dutch noun meaning the comfort and coziness of being at home, with friends, with loved ones or general togetherness.

In 90% of cases, for me, this involves a table. My parent’s kitchen table. Crossbow’s game room table. A round table in a cafeteria that can fit n+1 chairs. A battered $10 extendable table that graced an apartment I shared with a dear friend. So many things happen around tables that are not exciting. They don’t make for any sensible kind of story. But the experiences and the feeling mean more to me than that one ring meant to that flaming floating eyeball. Group efforts at solving crosswords. Pictionary, Pinochle, or Pandemic. Putting up the “Mitchell screen” and swinging imaginary swords at mythical monsters. Cat nukes. Building a fort under the table so to banish work stress and ignore rain. Lingering in a cafeteria until the staff turn out the lights on the group of you singing Disney songs, and talking about anything, everything, and nonsense, because Gezelligheid is so thick in the air that it is simply unbearable to consider leaving to go do homework.

6 thoughts on “Gezelligheid

Leave a Reply

