The Comfort of Cats

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” – Albert Schweitzer

And both of them are necessary for sanity. I have listened to hours and hours of music recently and I know it is just filling in for a simple half hour of playing with a cat. I find peace with cats. They make my heart as warm and fuzzy as they are and I purr along with them. Negative energy and depression are obliterated in the presence of an affectionate cat; it would take a good hour of music to achieve the same result.

In fact, this blog post is being written, thanks to Written? Kitten! (writtenkitten.net) which rewards word count with pictures of cute and fuzzy felines. At the moment that is much more encouraging than my usual resort of WriteorDie, (writeordie.com)because I always feel like I am disappointing that program when I use the backspace. In this case, the more I use the backspace, the longer it takes to get a kitten.

In the general planning of my life, synonymous with getting my own place to live is adopting two cats. People may joke about cat withdrawal, but really, being separated from such entertaining adorable creatures is painful. A simple joy is missing from my life with the absence of cats. Not that my life is not good with out cats. However, life with cats. Well, life with cats always has a most marvelous furry upside.

I can replace television with cats. Cats being more entertaining. I can replace music, with cats. There being a living creature to talk at and pretend it cares. In another note, “There is, incidently, no way of talking about cats that enables one to come off as a sane person.” (Quote from Dan Greenberg)

As I have never claimed to be a sane person, I am most satisfied. Now I am going to skip typing to receive kitten to go browse the multitude of cat pictures on the internet and thank my sister for putting videos of Ziggy on the internet.

Leave a Reply

