Experience and Skinned Knees

I certainly thought I was going to adjust to living in a new place quickly, I mean, I went to college far away from home, how different could it be? Oh how silly I can be sometimes. I love the trees, just like I knew I would, and am not dealing with the increase in heat and humidity as well as I would like. This time around, I do not have a few hundred other students in the same boat as I am. This time it is just myself and my roommate, and I found out that one can enjoy new experiences, but that I freak out when there are too many of them at once.

Public transportation, paying bills, not knowing anyone except aforementioned roommate…. this leads to the occasional mental break down regarding adulthood and why I am travelling certain paths in life. And you know what?

It’s all good. I may hyperventilate at the idea of a spontaneous trip out of the apartment (what if the bus fails to come and we are stranded far away forever in the dark!), and may wonder if this was the wisest decision I could have made on how to spend six months of my life, but life is long and friends are there with supporting shoulders to keep you from declaring yourself inept at life.

I am writing, I am handling what is coming at me, and I know many more of my own limitations and comforts. Tripping has been a part of locomotion since I could manage it. Time to remember all the skinned knees that never slowed me down and recognize that life has its own plan. As for right now, I will memorize bus schedules and handle one new thing at a time, until this new situation is normal.

Leave a Reply

